Monroe County is taking the initial step in a new program to better protect its natural resources and stream systems. Eleven municipalities had a roundtable discussion today with the Conservation District and the Planning Commission on how to navigate the new Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System Program, also known as MS4. The 2010 Census determined urbanized areas in every county that need to comply with obtaining permit coverage. Under the program each municipality is required to prepare a storm water management plan. The goal is to stop the run-off from entering the natural waterways. First every municipality needs to map out their storm water system. Every municipality needs to have their application in by next September.